in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Currently, the urban planning of big cities brings significant impacts on the landscapes of cities and the lifestyle of residents. Among these changes, small local shops are gradually replaced by large shopping centres. Personally, I would argue that more disadvantages are introduced than the advantages brought by closing small local shops. Several compelling reasons can be listed to argue the negative impacts on local people and city development by closing local shops. Initially, a great inconvenience will be introduced for the general living the public if these stores are closed. As shown in many cities and areas, small stores are mainly distributed among regions of local residents which provides great accessibility. For instance, customers can purchase their meals in one or two blocks-distance. In addition, small local shops are a part of native culture as there are some goods without alternatives somewhere been sold from the store. By contrast, large shopping centres and malls are significantly filled by chain stores along with insufficient local culture and fingerprints. Shopping at these places would be less fun, especially from the perspectives of travellers from other places. Lastly, the removal of a great number of small stores induces increased unemployment which is not conducive to the economy and the stability of areas. As a result, complaints can be induced among the public as many of them are forced to switch their jobs. It is known that weaknesses are always attended by strengths. Someone argues that large shopping centres effectively simplify the management and surveillance of markets. Since most stores in centres are well supervised under the group, it is less frequent to see cases of fraudulence or goods with crappy quality, which were seen from some local small shops. Nevertheless, the management can also be applied to the business of small local shops by pushing laws and regulations. For instance, serious punishments can be executed for illegal actions by owners of shops. More comprehensive rules and laws can be updated to ensure the premium quality of items sold from small stores. This action would tremendously enable the co-existence of small shops and large shopping malls, hence diversifying the choice for purchasing among the public. To sum up, it is fair to state that surveillance of domestic and local stores is a challenging task. However, these stores comprise the cultural logo of the city and significantly bring great convenience in our daily life. The space should be left for these shops by enforcing an improved management system to their business.