Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

It is argued that science subjects are becoming less preferred, whilst there is the rising popularity of computer-based modules among students. From my perspective, this evident phenomenon is advantageous to learners and I will discuss some reasons justifying the trend. It is undeniable that the preference provides students with a variety of benefits. With advancements in technology, the requirement is that employees are capable of handling computer systems. As the matter of fact, many companies and organizations are operated mainly by computer-based modules that can provide essential knowledge to meet employers’ demands. Moreover, advanced technologies provided in classrooms can help to enhance not only students ’ comprehension but also their creativity. To illustrate the case, surveys carried out at Chulalongkorn University have shown an increase in both productivity and academic performance among students taking up computer classes. One of the principal reasons for this tendency is that science subjects are regarded as boring and rather impractical, failing to catch students ’ interest. Knowledge obtained from science classes is theoretical and inapplicable in real life, therefore aforementioned subjects are arousing learners’ attention. Another justification is that computer sciences are considered facilitators for students ’ career paths. With reference to the promotion of the IT industry, they are nudged toward being more engaged with IT-based sciences in order to meet prospective employers. Many leading enterprises are seeking employees' expertise in technology and Vingroup is a prime example of this case. In conclusion, there is a tendency for educators to opt for IT-based sciences instead of other classes in school and university. It is my firm conviction that the phenomenon is beneficial to both students and society for some apparent reasons.