Happiness is often considered difficult to define. Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

Happiness is something very complex. A lot of people have tried to get a formula to achieve this, yet not too many of them succeed. In this essay we are going to shed some light on the reason why it is so difficult to do so and what prompts happiness in my opinion. Before digging into the subject, we must understand happiness is a mental state which is brought about by a release of chemical hormones by our body. The feeling of excitement, which is normally characterized as a racing heart, is actually necessitated by a hormone called endorphins. For instance, children are thrilled after some chasing around games, young people have their ups and downs when experiencing their first love. These are all examples of extreme excitements which are actually caused by hormones. Yet few people realize this and they find it difficult to define happiness in a mental way. After all, people have different personalities and it would be impracticable to generalize their different feelings of happiness in words. One factor that is crucial in the level of endorphins produced within our bodies is age. It is quite evident that children and young people are easier to get excited, this is due to the normal process of hormone level reduction as our age increases. Apart from age, another factor that is not ignorable is the level of effort we have put to achieve our targets, such as a career milestone, monetary wealth or love. Not surprisingly, the more sacrifices we undergo in the process, the sweeter the fruit of hard work seems to be. For example, we can see sportsmen burst into tears after getting a gold medal even though they are in their thirties. It is conspicuous how much pain and sweat they have lived through in order to win, so the taste of being the champion must be so great to them. To sum up, the reason why people find defining happiness is so difficult is that they fail to look it from the angle of chemical hormones. Rather, they try to define it psychologically. From an objective perspective, happiness is actually very determined by one's age and sacrifices made to achieve the desired targets. With that in mind, getting a formula to happiness is actually easier than commonly thought.