Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Owing to the development of global trade, people are more likely to buy similar goods from all over the world, which will make their countries seem to be others. In my opinion, I stand the point that this will surely benefit both individuals and society. To start with, people can purchase all brands and types of international commodities to improve the quality of their life, instead of only being trapped in the domestic market. For example, those living in Western Europe are able to buy tea from Asia, which can warm them up in the cold winter. Besides, it is possible for individuals to get beautiful jewels from South Africa or shining gold from North America. Consequently, this exchange of goods not only benefits people who want to pursue a more colourful life but also gives different nations a chance to feel about the special culture of other places. On the other hand, some may argue that this trend makes countries more and more similar, which means they will lose their unique icons. Nevertheless, this is also another advantage brought by people sharing worldwide goods. For instance, if students who get used to the food and drinks made in their own countries plan to go abroad for further study, they will not worry that they cannot adjust to a foreign diet, because they can still purchase what they like from their home on the internet. Hence, when people need to move to a new place, it is not difficult for them to adapt to the new environment there. In conclusion, although countries probably become similar, it is still a positive development caused by people buying things around the world, because this contributes to the public having a better life and nations having more cultural communication.