At present, the media affects people 's lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

It is said that today, the media has a significant impact on the way people live their lives. This essay will discuss how the media affect lifestyle by shifting leisure activities of the people and I believe that this is a negative development because this increase the incidence of many health problems. A major impact of the media is that it alters people's lifestyles by changing their hobbies. To be more specific, in the contemporary world, with the development of technology, media has succeeded in attracting personal attention in many ways. Furthermore, many young adults are entwined with social media such as Facebook and adults sit in front of the television for many hours of the day as their leisure activities. Thus, the sedentary lifestyle become very common in several countries. For instance, recent research done by the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Colombo revealed that more than 50 per cent of teenagers on social media flatform during their free time, without doing physical activity in 2020. This is a critical situation for health. Furthermore, not only children but also adults who are wasting their precious time on social media or television tend to develop non-communicable diseases such as diabetes mellitus and hyperlipidemia, and finally end up with life-threatening cardiovascular diseases such as myocardial infarction. This affects both individuals as well as nations' economy too. To exemplify, WHO reported that the prevalence of obesity has a straight relationship with media -related lifestyles and this become a significant economic problem for many countries. In conclusion, the media affect people's lifestyles by replacing physical activities with several media -related hobbies and think this is a negative development because it increases the health hazards.