Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The have been numerous controversies in terms of utilizing cultural customs as a tool to monetize tourists. Some people believe that it is inevitable, while others claim that those practices will damage the traditions. This essay will discuss both perspectives and state the writer’s opinion. On the one hand, the reason why people believe that traditional customs are damaged is that some spiritual places such as temples and pagodas are being changed to facilitate transportation. These practices however have lessened the historical atmosphere of the destinations. Another problem is the loss of meaning in these cultural traditions. Traditional activities like dancing and worshipping are now just being brought out as a performance, or to serve tourists’ virtual life, losing their ancient value. On the other hand, others believe that earning money is the only solution to preserve those traditions. First, the local administration will have funds to maintain historic monuments and statues. Without the flow of money from tourism, it is impossible to keep them endurable from the ravage of time. Second, local residents, who are also the heir of erstwhile customs, might get an income of money to live on and conserve their traditions. An obvious example is Bat Trang ceramic village, their cultural customs still exist to this day principally because of the money from selling their vases or pots to the tourists who visit the village. Without money, people will not possess financial income and may abandon their traditions to earn a living. To conclude, some argue that using tradition as a tool to pocket has damaged it. Meanwhile, others that it is preserving their customs. I myself support the second viewpoint because it creates well-reserved benefits for both the tradition, local residents, and the visitors.