Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is hard to deny that the government is obligated to provide a tidy environment for the local citizens. And such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that they have no responsibility to the local environment. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. So I strongly hold that everyone is duty bound to maintain the local environment. To begin with, the government can hardly take the responsibility to protect the environment without the assistance of local inhabitants. That is because human activity is a major factor in the rise of pollution which is a hot potato for the government to cope with. Taking global warming as an example, gases such as carbon dioxide emitted by factories and vehicles sustainably leads to the problem more and more serious. If a human could not conscious of the endangerment of the activity, which is a principal contributor to the pollution of the environment, the government would not tackle the problem this problem alone. Additionally, “lucid waters and lush mountains are invaluable assets”, and keeping the environment in good condition brings direct or indirect benefits to local residents. It not only helps to create good living condition but also attract visitors to come for sightseeing. As tourists have a tendency to travel to a place, which has a good ecological environment, bringing handsome income to the indigenous citizens. As the venue can intrigue the passion of the people to coordinate with the government to take actions to protect the government. In conclusion, the power of the government is limited. Only when the indigenous people are apprehensive of the environment can the condition take a turn for the better. It is the joint effort by people and the government that makes the environment better.