Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Many dispute that the amount of packaging ought to be reduced and it is the responsibility of manufacturers and supermarket outlets to do so. Others argue that to reach this goal buyers should avoid commodities that have packaging. While manufacturing companies need to reduce their use of packaging, I will argue that the obligation mostly lies around customers. Production companies tend to wrap their products in a fancy package in order to enhance their chance of being caught the eye of a customer and being purchased among the variety of similar products and fierce competition. However, environmental advocates have been contending that supermarkets and manufacturers have to be forced to decrease their use of packaging since they have dire implications for the environment. The reason for this is that producers are laying the foundation for acceleration in the use of wrapped goods and making it a norm in the industry and other branches. Consequently, packaging will become widespread among all sectors which will lead to natural damage. On the flip side, I would argue that citizens have to be on the front line of combating the use of environmentally catastrophic packaging materials by opting for non-wrapped goods. This simple gesture will transcend a message to corporations that these useless items, which are indeed harmful to nature, have to be decreased or omitted from production. For instance, Norway, which has one of the most environmentally friendly citizens, have conducted a similar scheme and successfully managed to force the government to impose legislation on companies to minimize their use of harmful packaging materials. Hence, if individuals were to show their disgust with the consumption of wraps, the government and businesses would act in favour of people's will and lower their application. In conclusion, I would argue that citizens have the strongest voice in convincing companies not to use packaging, which is unnecessary and destructive to the environment.