Crime & Punishment Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is sometimes argued that the punishments of a crime should not change for a known crime, and the penalties should remain stable for each type of crime, however, many people say this cannot be true and we should consider the motivation, and the situation of criminals. I believe that instituting a single punishment for each type of crime would be a dogmatic and one-dimensional view towards criminals. On the one hand, some people claim that crime is a crime and we cannot alleviate the obscenity related to crimes with criminal circumstances and situations; for instance, you cannot make an excuse for murdering someone. Also, if we have a restricted punishment for each guilt, people will understand the consequences of their acts, and they try to behave better. For example, some murderers claim that it was instant madness that forced them to kill someone; thus, they could run away from punishment. At the same time, it would be much easier for lawyers and courts to set the rules against crimes. While I understand it could be easier to regulate a single penalty for each type of misbehavin, In my point of view, it cannot be a good attitude towards this issue at all. On the other hand, other people believe we should consider the motivation, and also the criminal's situation. We should ask why they put their life in danger when they know about the consequences. The first and most important notion towards this idea is that many people commit crimes in diverse situations. For example, I remember when I lost my conscious because of my disease, my father passed many red lights to send me to the hospital. Secondly, humans can make mistakes and we cannot blame them; you can forget your driving license. If it's your first time, the government could forgive you, but if it happens frequently, the rules behave you differently. Lastly, penalties should fit the level of the economy of citizens. for instance, if the police charge the drivers for their speed with a couple of dollars, many wealthy people tend to go at high speed and refuse to stick with the law. In conclusion, people's attitudes towards setting punishments for criminals vary. I believe when governments want to punish someone, they should consider the circumstances and motivation of criminals, and then they set the proper punishment for them.