Many people believe that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely supported that public transportation should be free to use for citizens in urban areas. Although there are some upsides to this idea, some downsides can not be avoided. Initially, there are two advantages about why no fee needs to be paid to use transportation: it will be available for anyone as well as contribute to reducing air or other pollution. Adolescents, especially young students have to travel to school or work every day. If they do not need to pay in order to get to desired destinations, it helps to make travelling easier as well as less stressed. In addition, if there are more people using public transportation every day, air quality and other features will be highly improved. For example, in comparison between China and Japan, the island is obviously less polluted. This situation happens due to the fact that the majority of Japan's population commute by underground or bus, while the Chinese enjoy driving their own vehicles. Using public transportation for free, however, has some apparent disadvantages. The first demerit is that it is likely that not many people truly pay attention to maintaining public possessions. For instance, if a person is driving their personal car, they will be extremely careful about operating the vehicle, as well as not to dirty it by any means. In contrast, if they are on the bus or train, especially under the circumstance of not paying any fee, they will not consider much before littering the surrounding. Another downside is that the population could only use public transportation for a limited time. It is a genuine convenience if citizens can not get to the required destination unless their arrival time matches the vehicle's timetable. In brief, having free public transportation methods in great cities contains both merits and demerits.