Some people say that advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because it will make people feel dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, advertisements have been around us in many aspects of our life. There have been disputes as to whether it would have positive effects on our economy or negative ones on our society. In my opinion, advertising is a two-edged sword so we should make consideration before taking action. Some think that promoting can increase sales of products. A good sales volume is sure to increase the profits of factories. Meanwhile, the selling and purchasing process can enhance the flow of products and money, which is also good for the local economy. However, the cost of advertising now is relatively high due to fierce competition. Too many advertisements would account for a great budget for manufacturers. If they cannot gain a good sale, this may lead them to bankrupt. Others state that advertising would have negative effects on our society. This would make us feel inferior. For example, over-promoting ancient drawings of galleys with everyone more than 1 million would let us know that all our assets cannot afford a piece of ancient drawing. This may beat down our confidence. But, this may also have positive effects. For those with high self-motivation, after they know this truth, they may spare no effort to strive to have a better life. As this spirit, it should be encouraged. In conclusion, advertising may bring both positive and negative effects on our society and economy. As to manufacturers, before we plan to promote our products, we should take concrete consideration. As to our society, we should establish a monitoring system to encourage those who really need advertisements and bit those who would cause negative competition.