Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

One of the problems which have been caused by the burst of the population in recent decades is waste production increasing. Regarding this issue, some people believe that the level of recycled materials which are made by homes trash is not ample, and the only way to increase recycling is by passing some laws by governments. I highly believe that laws are required to raise the recycling process because of at least two reasons which I am going to elucidate in the following paragraphs. To begin with, obliging or motivating people to separate their homes’ waste for the recycling procedure could be a suitable deed in that if there would be a legal punishment for someone who does not cooperate with this process, or if there would be a predetermined incentive for those who help the government in the recycling process, we would witness to the increasing amount of recycled waste and its benefits. For instance, recycling is a mandatory action in Germany as far as I know, and its compulsoriness has made Germany the first -ranked country in the recycling industry; consequently, the price of raw materials and its CO2 emission are less than are other European countries. Another reason for my belief is that mandatoriness of action by passing a law would convert the aforementioned action to an easy routine habit in a long run. For example, in Japan do teachers help students to clean their own class and to separate the produced trash; therefore, separating trashes would be a facile deed that every Japanese pupil would do after a while not only in school but also in his/her house; accordingly, passing a law in such fields would convert these deeds to habits and cultural actions for a country’s younger generation in the offing. Besides, it is apt to mention that, the more proper operations propagate in any given society either by motivation or obligation, the more the benefits of such deeds which will turn into cultural actions would be for the younger generation of society such as economic flourishing in the future. To sum up, concerning the need for governments to pass citizens some mandatory laws in order to increase recycling, I highly disagreed with this operation regarding the reasons which are described in the above paragraphs.