In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It has been argued that in some communities, it is told to the young that their success can be attributed to their hard work and they can gain whatever they want by determination and tenacity. This essay will describe some benefits and drawbacks of this idea. To begin with, the biggest advantage of this is that it can motivate children to try hard for their goals. In fact, if youth be informed that their prosperity is in direct proportion to the effort they put in, they will just rely on themselves and allocate time to achieve it. Moreover, it can also help children to start exploring their full potential in order to approach their goals; however, a number of the young who do not have this mentioned attitude have many untapped talents and capacities. Despite this, conveying this message to children that by hard work people can attain their desired goals has its detriments. In fact, sometimes, people’s success depends on many different external factors that are out of their control. For instance, inflation, recession and high rate of unemployment are likely to get individuals away from success and goals although they try hard. As a result, when youth frequently encounter failure in spite of their hard work, they can get frustrated, anxious and even depressed. In conclusion, therefore, there are clearly advantages and disadvantages to this idea. On the one hand, it can be considered as an incentive for children to make effort for their future and explore their talents and on the other hand, it may be disadvantageous,because youth may be affected mentally if they fail to achieve whatever they want due to the deterrent externals factors