Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been argued that people have different views about adverts. While some believe that advertising is significantly effective in encouraging individuals to buy products, others hold the view that since advertisements have become so common nowadays, they are not attention- grabing any more. Personally, I support the first idea for a number of reasons. To begin with, some people think that commercials have lost their influence these days. From their point of view, vast majority of products in the market are being advertised frequently regardless of their quality. In fact, it is the policy of agencies to make an appealing advert for their customers as to draw people's attention. Following this, they try to exagerate about the features of a product. As a consequence, audiences gradually lose not only their interest but also their trust in advertisement. Therefore, it is no longer viable strategy to persuade the public in order to buy a particular product. In spite of this, there are those, including myself, who subscribe to the view that we can not deny the profound impact of adverts on audiences. They argue that advertising is an appropriate way to getting people familiar with the latest products in the market. By way of example, if a manufacturer of digital devices do not introduce its latest device, the possibility of increasing the demand of customers should be ruled out. Furthermore, I believe that recently advertisers have started new methods in order to appeal to the public. For instance, some of them hire celebrities to endorse their products. In conclusion, both mentioned ideas about the effect of commercials on individuals can be acceptable under certain circumstances, but in my opinion, advertising is likely to generate a remarkable increase in demand for products because by doing this, audience can be informed about the new features of the latest products and also most agencies apply extraordinary methods to encourage people to buy things.