Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the expansion of population in modern society, what transportation is a priority for governments to spend more money on? This sparks a heated discussion. Some people think it must be railways, and I totally agree with this statement. To start with, the main reason is that more people move to cities from their hometowns now. As a result, there is a large demand for them to travel between different places to balance their work and family in rural areas. If more trains with higher speed and frequency are established, for example, this will reduce the fatigue of these individuals and can also help save their time. In addition, more railways mean that a country has more capacity to transport not only passengers but also cargo and commodities, which will definitely contribute to the development of industry and commerce. To put it simply, some international trades also depend on railways. This transportation will bring more income for governments and therefore, the wealth can be invested in other aspects of transportation construction consequently. On the other hand, some may argue that the traffic problem is so severe in urban areas, thus it is urgent for governments to cope with this issue. Nevertheless, it cannot blame on the amount and the quality of roads. This is caused by too many private cars, which will not be improved in the short term, even if governments spend all of the money. But developed railways probably provide a new method for people, for instance, to across cities to work, and this can help alleviate the stress of roads. In conclusion, building railways better will benefit both the public and society. Meanwhile, the effect cannot be seen immediately if governments pay lots of attention to improving roads. For these reasons, I believe that constructing railways should be put in the first place.