SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT SPORT IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR A NATION’S DEVELOPMENT, WHILE OTHERS BELIEVE THAT SPORT IS NO MORE THAN A LEISURE TIME ACTIVITY. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION

Sport is part of human being culture that consists of a range of activities with different difficulties. Some people believe that sport is very helpful to develop nations, whereas others think sport is just a way to relax. In my opinion, I agree with the view that supporting sport is critical for a nation's development. Some people think that sport is not essential for a country's development. They think sport is different from work activities owing sport cannot output production or money. Although there are some league matches, however, these activities are not productive activities. For example, football fans buy tickets to watch matches, which do not produce any products. It means, there is no contribution to the GDP. Also, these league matches are far away from ordinary people, hence, sport is no more than a leisure time activity. It does not have enough power to develop the whole nation. By contrast, opponents believe that the sport is related to everyone. There is a strong positive relationship between sports time and health. People in the labour force may suffer from long- time work if they lack sports activities. For instance, when we are facing some difficult problems in the working process, the trained body will allow us to spend more time addressing the issue. Also, supporters think sports can not only train the bodies of people, but also spirits that bring us the ironic will to face challenges. In conclusion, people may ignore the extra function of sport. However, the sport actually brings us a lot that more than leisure time activities.