The use of mobile phone in certain places is just as antisocial as smoking. Do you think mobile should be banned like smoking?

Advanced technology has made it possible for people to have access to mobile phones anytime and anywhere, while some individuals believe that the use of mobile phones in certain places is just as antisocial as smoking. Although I recognize that using handphones on some occasions should be banned, I hold the view that it should not be prohibited as smoking. Admittedly, the use of mobile phones would have some negative impacts on public places and safety. Firstly, it is impolite to use mobile phones in public areas where we are expected to be quiet. For example, it’s impolite to use telephones in the cinema, library or classroom since the noises of making a phone call may cause distractions for others. Also, it is dangerous for some individuals to use handphones while driving since drivers would be disrupted by phones and cannot focus on driving and keeping it safe. This would result in higher risks of car accidents. However, the use of telephones cannot be prohibited as smoking since it brings a number of conveniences for humans. One benefit is that employees can check their emails and have video meetings for business and group meetings on their phones anywhere. This would help them to cooperate with their colleague, work closely together and achieve a common goal, therefore, improving their work efficiency. Additionally, abroad students can contact their families and friend on social media without geographical barriers. This would not only build family bonds but also strengthen the relationship between friends. Furthermore, people can get help in an emergency by using smartphones. For instance, a patient who has a sudden heart attack in the street can be quickly sent to the hospital and get timely treatment by calling an ambulance. In conclusion, although I recognize that using a call-up in some areas should be banned, such as the cinema, library or classroom since it is impolite and would distract people, it should not be prohibited as smoking because of its convenience and reliability in an emergency.