Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant adult . Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children . What are causes , and what solutions can be taken?

Obesity was a common disease that affect only adults years ago, whereas now become a very common health issue among children. This essay will discuss how dietary patterns and levels of physical activities cause this growing problem and then outline how education and increased exercise can be the most viable solutions. One of the prime reasons for this unfortunate situation is the popularity of fast food among children. Today, many fast food restaurants, such as KFC, are available in any area, so that children have easy access to them. These junk food contain an exorbitant amount of calories because of their high fat and sugar content. In addition, in the contemporary world, with the development of technology, children's leisure activities are shifted to technical devices, such as smartphones and video games. Hence, nowadays, most children are living a sedentary lifestyle than earlier. Both, a high-calorie diet and low exercise levels are the triggering factors for obesity, which leads to non-communicable diseases namely, diabetes mellitus and hyperlipidemia. The best feasible solution to overcome this problem is health education. In fact, children should be educated regarding risk factors for overweight, complications of obesity, and the importance of maintaining weight in the BMI range. This can be done by incorporating these lessons into the school curriculum as a compulsory subject. Another solution is that encourage students to do sports and this can be done by advising them to do at least one sport as an extracurricular activity. For instance, In Sri Lanka, the school syllabus has PT as a compulsory subject and a rule for students to do at least one sport. In conclusion, many children are struggling with being overweight beyond their BMI level and this is mainly due to junk food and a sedentary lifestyle. However, if the school gives pupils a good health education and motivates them to do more exercise, this problem can be alleviated.