People from poor and rural backgrounds find it difficulty to get university education. Some people think that the government should make it easier for them to enter universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some folks believe that those coming from a less fortunate background might find it troublesome to enter tertiary studies and that government has a role to play for them to enrol in these institutions. I agree that there is a variety of ways to get further education and support from local authorities could be one solution. People who do not stay in the city and who do not have the financial means to study, are at a greater disadvantage compared to those who are not. Furthermore, not only can they not afford the courses but, they need to leave their homes and families to go to the cities. In addition, this adds monetary stress on the family because they need to seek accommodation away from home which is even more costly. For example, someone who supported his family with an income is now moving to the metropole, leaving his family without the benefit of regular funds but rather costing more money to be away. Government can support their locals and help them to enter university by subsidizing their fees. In addition, they can offer housing and food stamps to lessen the financial burden. For example, in South Africa, 82% of the population depends on the bursary scheme set out by the state to complete tertiary studies. Furthermore, recipients of such funds also receive a monthly living allowance. Put more simply, they invest in their citizens in the hope that once they have completed their syllabus, they will gain meaningful employment to help them sustain a better living. In conclusion, those desiring to study beyond school should be supported to do so. Especially, the poor who can not afford it so that they in turn can contribute back to society once they have completed their studies.