Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A large number of politicians are of the conviction that economic progress tops the aim of any government. On the other hand, some people state that progressing in other subjects is important as well. I agree with the second point of view and believe that cultural development coupled with scientific progress is equally critical for society. It has been proven that economic progression is one of the major goals of governments. Firstly, Money plays a vitally important role in meeting the needs and desires of the people. For example, all individuals need money to supply healthy food and suitable clothes. Economic growth leads people to have higher salaries, so they will have more prosperity and better quality of life. Secondly, a robust economy can contribute to development in other aspects of society like agricultural and industrial advances. These kinds of progression need a great deal of budget and effort to be done that can be supplied by the government funds. However, Advances in other areas such as science and culture are also essential to a country for numerous factors. Basically, scientific research expands our understanding of the world around us and prevents many problems that can damage humans. For instance, medical progress can increase public health, and curb many diseases, which were the reasons why people died in the past. In addition, cultural progression like art, history, and human science is a major requirement of each society. Individuals need to admire their culture. In conclusion, considering the above-mentioned reasons, although I believe that creating economic growth is a critical responsibility of each government, there can be a wide variety of reasons why other subjects are vital.