Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some reasons have been described regarding the necessity for learning a foreign language that has different importance levels based on disparate people’s life aspects. Some people reckon that travelling or working in abroad are the only reasons for learning a new tongue, while others say that there are other reasons in addition to the aforementioned ones that may necessitate acquiring a foreign language. In the following, I am going to discuss both vantage points and present my verdict on them. Travelling and working in another country are actions which are not possible to be done without acquiring the language of the destination country. For example, not only could a visitor take rejoice over his / her trip to a foreign region, but also there would be the possibility for him / her to encounter many problems in that the above-mentioned visitor could not socialize with the local nation; therefore, he / she would not be able to meet his / her needs there. This matter is also valid for those who want to work abroad with a greater significance now that working in a place without knowing the inhabitants’ mother tongue is something inconceivable. On the other hand, the need for learning a new language is not limited to travelling or working abroad; for instance, some people learn another tongue for their own sake such as a business-man who lives in his hometown, yet wants to expand his business and deal with foreign business-men from other countries. In my opinion, the main purposes for acquiring a different tongue are not limited to having an occupation or a trip to a disparate country, and migration is the most substantial one in my viewpoint in that neither socializing nor living would not be possible without knowing the dialects. However, the above-mentioned purposes are major aims for this operation, and there are minor ones too. To incite instance, It is so probable that a person like a veterinarian or a physician who lives in Iran only does learn English in order to have access to the most updated data regarding medicine, or a child who learns French for the sake of his / her parents. In conclusion, regarding the purposes for learning a different language, both viewpoints were discussed, and I personally think that travelling and working are not the only proofs for the acquisition of a foreign tongue, and other actions can necessitate some folks to learn a disparate language as I mentioned in the above paragraphs.