Some people argue that history is of little or no use to us. Other believe that studying history gives many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the subject of history has been of great interest to the public. Though many a person regards it as an intrinsic part of the curriculum, the counterargument is that it is of little importance, especially in modern times when technology has become pervasive. Personally, I hold a view that the significance of history is ever-present and research into it should be maintained. On the one hand, it is essential to acknowledge the necessity of history. In fact, contemplating past events and characters is somewhat synonymous with acquiring insights into bygone events as well as the merits and demerits of the precursors, thereby drawing lessons which can be applied in attempts to construct the modern world. A prime example is that the foreign policies in many nations, which aim at showing solidarity and minimising the risk of armed conflicts with other fellow countries, were constituted and enacted after learning from the wars resulting from diplomatic errors made by their ancestors. Moreover, by studying history, students' understanding of their country can be established and deepened and, as a result, patriotism is likely to be consolidated. Thus, it would be a grave mistake to overlook the beneficial impacts it may bring. On the other hand, opponents cast doubt on the discipline, believing it is archaic and unable to be applied in the present time. This rationale could be true to some extent since humanity has experienced a drastic transformation and there are solutions which used to be employed to tackle past problems but have become outdated and incompatible with contemporary issues. To illustrate, violent methods had been effective in resisting colonialism before it evolved into a more sophisticated form which is virtually impossible to be eradicated with the mere utilisation of military and weaponry. Hence, it would be sensible to assert that the practicality of history lessons has dwindled over time. To conclude, there are solid justifications to defend both schools of thought. From my perspective, I opine that it has played a crucial role regardless of time due to its profound influence on modern society and under no circumstances should governments underestimate its contribution.