People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that immigrants had better adapt to the customs and traditions when they commence to settle in a foreign country. I believe that if they do not follow these things, they will have to face many problems and vice versa; therefore I completely agree with this idea. There are a number of drawbacks if the newcomers do not blend into with the local culture and traditions of the host country. Firstly, the refusal to conform to the host environment may create a cultural barrier for the immigrants /ˈɪmɪɡrənt/. This leads to social isolation which has negative influences on their lives. Secondly, limited knowledge of local customs may result in some illegal actions in the new country and make native people displeased. For instance, in Singapore, one of the cleanest countries in Asia, local residents will consider anyone dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the streets or spit gum in the public, and I think the newcomers will have negative feelings if they receive such treatment. I believe the newcomers can gain some benefits if they adapt to the new country’s customs and traditions. One benefit is that if the immigrants behave in accordance with the local conventions, they will be easily accepted by local inhabitants, and as a result, they can receive respect and affection as well as some help from the locals. For example, my niece told me that she got warm welcome from her neighbours when she moved to settle with her husband in Korea 2 years ago thanks to her respect for their customs and traditions. Another benefit that the newcomers might gain is the rich knowledge of the local customs and traditions which enables them to actively participate in the activities of the community as well as traditional festivals. This may bring them pleasant feelings and strong motivations to live and work. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that the immigrants should conform to the new country’s customs and conventions