Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

it is irrefutable that economic progress is one yardstick for determining a country's success, but there is a range of other non-economic factors such as Literacy Rate (LR), Infant Mortality Rate (IMR), Life Expectancy at birth LEB), and Environment Performance Index (EPI), which can be index (EPI), which can be used to judge the well-being of a nation. This essay shall delve into all such factors and also pick out the most significant one. Economic progress, or in other words, the GDP has traditionally been the benchmark for determining the growth of a country. The true measure of accomplishment, however, is to determine how much of this economic growth is reaching the weakest sections of society. A successful measure of development should represent the life of an average person in a country. It should measure the quality of life of all citizens. One important factor is the Literacy Rate. For example, a country like Cuba has low GDP but less than 1% of its population is illiterate. As a consequence, there is less crime and hence people enjoy a peaceful existence. Another factor is Primary Health Care. This can be judged by the Infant Mortality Rate, and the Life Expectancy at Birth. If people receive good healthcare at the primary level, they are happier. Their productivity of work increases, and they lead a comfortable life. Furthermore, the Environmental Performance Index (EPI) is also an index of mapping success. For instance, Costa Rica has a low GDP, but its people are considered to be the happiest in the world. This is perhaps because it ranks 5th in the world in the EPI. Summing up, the 'Literacy Rate ' is the most important factor to measure the success of a nation. GDP is just a mathematical value and does not take into consideration many of the factors that affect a person's well-being and thus a nation's wellbeing.