Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others belive it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification

Many university students have the motivation to add their main subject by learning other subjects while others think that focusing on studying for a qualification is more important. In spite of the benefits of the latter idea, I believe it is important for students to be able to learn additional subjects which they are interested in. On the one hand, if students can pursue their interest in learning other subjects that they are interested in, it will benefit them by becoming more happy and can result in better scientific research and outputs. There is a common phenomenon where many college students feel that they are choosing the wrong major, but the opportunity to learn about other subjects allows them to choose different academic experiences that could lead to happier students. By engaging in a more-preferred subject, it is more likely for them to produce better academic outputs which could benefit a lot of people. On the other hand, focusing their time and effort on receiving a qualification can be beneficial for students, especially those who are a more career-oriented individual. Because a lot of high-paid jobs usually require applicants to have some qualifications, a lot of students try to require them. By studying more for a certification, university students might be able to get the necessary requirements for their dream job and therefore be paid more. In conclusion, although focusing on studying for a qualification could lead to better-paid graduates, I believe that learning different subjects can be useful for students to be happier and for society through better scientific outputs.