It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

More and more students are taking a year away from their studies between graduating from school and beginning university. Students can save for and think about their future during this period, though there are several drawbacks to consider. To begin with, by taking a year after high school, students can avoid the costly mistakes of starting a degree that they are not interested in. A year is a good time to consider options and decide what subject is best to study. Secondly, a gap year is excellent for character development. When graduating high school at 18, most people still don’t know what life direction they wish to take. Studies show that students who take a gap year doing something constructive like travelling do better at university later on than those who do not. Finally, a year away from studies provides the chance to save money. That way, at university, students may focus more on classes, and less on debt. However, spending such a long time away from studying may cause some students to lose good study habits, and gain bad habits instead. After 12 years of continuous schooling, many teenagers may be distracted by the prospect of earning money and lose the motivation to continue their studies. Furthermore, individuals without a constructive plan for their education-free year may be tempted to procrastinate and waste time. Lastly, travelling overseas can be expensive, and there is a real possibility that students may end up in more debt by the start of the university year. To sum up, although students who take a year out can save money and achieve greater life direction, this time may also be wasted, lead to greater debt, or cause unintended life decisions that may later be regretted.