In most elementary and high schools in Asia, students are required to wear uniforms. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing school uniforms?

Wearing school uniforms has become a traditional activity in elementary and high school over Asian countries. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages. On one hand, wearing uniforms creates a positive environment in school, consequently, it promotes equality and discards bullying. Wearing the same dress at school reduces economic inequality and the competition among children to show off their trendy clothes. There will be less neglect and students will not try to keep up with fashion. Following some social experiment results, mandatory dress codes have been proven an effective method to reduce bullying. On other hand, standardize uniforms may not be fit to all child especially obese kids. Another issue is that students may get tired of wearing the same color everyday. In some cases, students may not recognize their friends from the back, in particular male learners. For instance, the Asian children are of similar height and hair color, hence, they are easily mistaken for each other.(*) In conclusion, uniforms make it easier to maintain discipline at school and create an atmosphere of equality. Enforcing a rule that requires students to abide by dress code has more advantages than disadvantages.