In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own property. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

It is true that many people prefer to live in a rented property because they are not responsible for miscellaneous expenses. However, although living in a rental place has some advantages, owning a house brings more advantages. Undoubtedly, owning a home is a lifelong goal for many people, but renting also has its advantages: with no maintenance costs or repair bills, meaning that when people rent a property, their landlord shoulders the whole responsibility for all maintenance, improvement, and repairs. For example, if an appliance stops working or the roof starts to leak, they just call the landlord to fix or replace it. The other benefit is the exemption of up-front costs. Renters generally have to pay a security deposit that is equal to one month’s rent, and that is all. This deposit will be returned to them when they move out, provided the rental property has not been damaged. However, the amount for a down payment is significantly higher than a rental security deposit. For instance, a 20% down payment on a house with a market value of $200,000 is $40,000. Thus, those unable to afford the down payment have no choice but to rent a house. Nonetheless, owning a house also creates some advantages tenants cannot obtain. First, people can create their dream house. As tenants, people cannot renovate their property without the landlord’s permission. Conversely, owning a home means complete creative freedom of creation from altering fixtures to full remodels. Second, owning a house is a smart way to build wealth. For example, the average price of real estate sold in the United States rose 10% from 2014 to 2019. With Covid-19 driving the marketplace, those increases will continue. Finally, the benefits of owning a home are not all about money. If they are ranked in order of importance, the pride that accompanies owning a home would be at the top because a home solidifies one’s future and shapes the most purposeful life with intangible benefits, such as a sense of stability and belonging to a community. People can eliminate uncertainties and create lasting memories if they purchase their property. To conclude, ranting a house may lead to some advantages, but owning a house can bring more benefits that cannot be gained by a tenant.