Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some adopt the view that traveling and working are the main reasons for people to learn a second language, while others think that there are still various reasons. Both views of this argument will be discussed in the essay below before my view on this matter is drawn in the end. On the one hand, it is noticeable that individuals learn a foreign language for traveling and employment. In terms of trips, it can be seen that knowing a language makes travelers more interested and enjoyable, as they can interact with the locals without fear of language barriers. Moreover, they are likely to figure out the culture, beliefs, and cuisine of the nation they visit. Without a language background, they find it challenging to read menus, signs, and directions and express their needs. Regarding working, mastering linguistics would help them gain a better job with a higher salary. Having said that, most professions with higher incomes fall into international companies. Therefore, learning a language would benefit candidates from landing jobs in these workplaces since they can effortlessly communicate with their bosses, and customers who come from other countries. On the other hand, human beings also learn languages for social connections. For example, people desire to understand more about their counterparts who are foreigners, so they decide to take up English classes. Additionally, there are some cases where people want to form a nexus with their international friends, enriching their social life. In conclusion, I would side with those who believe that the core purposes of learning a language are visiting and occupations, although there are room for other reasons.