Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There has been controversy about whether relying on medicines and treatments instead of having a proper diagnosis by professionals to deal with well-being problems is a beneficial development. Some people believe this is a proper alternative, and others believe we should visit the professionals. This essay will discuss both pros and cons and my opinions in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, since technology development is advanced, populations can research and find suitable therapy to tackle their health problems via the internet, which is convenient and practical. For instance, some illnesses, such as cold and fever, are common and have several types of medication for the customers' selection on the market. For example, in Hong Kong, most patients are willing to purchase medication rather than visit a doctor because of the convenience and price to visit professionals. On the other hand, it is essential for patients to see a doctor getting proper treatment and professional advice. Most people do not entirely understand themselves, such as any sources or ingredients that might potentially cause allergies which threaten their well-being. For instance, in America, various cases of the public getting allergies because of taking unsuitable medicines. Meanwhile, some of the medications require doctor permission because they possible develop into an addiction problem. It could cause dangerous health issues and harm to their life. To conclude, despite the medication improvement being advanced in recent years, which allows populations to easily purchase, it is still essential for patients to consult with experts to have a proper and suitable diagnosis and treatments. Therefore, I believe only taking medicines and treatments is a negative development.