International tourism has led to an huge increase in the number of visitors to many historical sites around the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative phenomenon.

The number of foreign tourists visiting historical places is increasing worldwide. This essay thinks that is a completely positive development because it helps with the cultural preservation of one's country and creates employment opportunities. To begin with, one of the most significant benefits of foreign nationalities visiting historical places is that it contributes to the preservation of culture. Receiving appreciation from other people helps the country's heritage and traditions alive. The nation can feel that its history is recognized and they are valuable part of the world. For instance, one of the most visited tourist spots in the Philippines is the World War II Museum in Bataan which showcases the memorabilia of the war. That is to say, international tourism shows that the sacrifices of people and soldiers during the tragic event are not forgotten. In addition to that, it also creates job opportunities, especially for the local community. International visitors are in need of accommodation, transportation, a place to eat and a tourist guide. Locals can serve as tour guides or drivers to them or they can even turn their homes into hostels. For instance, most people are now using Airbnb for accommodation. Visitors rent their homes for a few days. As a result, most Airbnb hosts have generated income more than their monthly salary. Thus, locals can earn money in many ways by means of international tourism. In conclusion, the interests of foreign nationals in historical places have a significant impact on one's country. Hence, I believe it is a positive development because it not only helps with cultural preservation, also improves the employment rate of the nation.