Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that long average working hours can bring economical success. Some people state that there are several negative points that can influence individuals socially. I agree with this point of view and believe that doing a lot of tasks and being much time away from family can affect a person negatively. Long average working time can bring some advantages to society in various aspects of life. Firstly, It can increase economical growth. As a result, people can have higher incomes and then a better quality of life. For example, 12-hour shifts in Japan lead to a rapid increase in the GDP of the country and its population have higher prosperity without worrying about poverty. Secondly, by doing this, the country would be more powerful and reputable internationally. However, enormous social drawbacks are associated with long- time jobs. First, people who spend much time on their tasks would not be able to manage their time to be with their family. This being away can lead to many family problems such as the lack of happiness among the members of a family. For instance, children can feel alone consistently due to the lack of presence of their parents. Furthermore, a person can be exhausted and become depressed because of having a monotonous lifestyle, so she can lose her productivity and creativity. In conclusion, considering the above-mentioned reasons, although it is true that working more might have some benefits like a better economy, I stand with the opposing view and I believe that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.