Government spending on restroration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend money in housing and road development . Do you agree or disagree with this.

In today's contemporary world, an increasing amount of funds have been spent by governments worldwide on the preservation of historical buildings. However, many opponents argue that this trend should be stopped and that money should rather be allocated to infrastructure departments like housing and road maintenance. In my opinion, governing authorities should spend more money on the current needs of the public, while a small percentage should be assigned in looking after old monuments. To begin with, ancient properties are an important part of a country's history, culture, and tradition. They help the present generation, especially juveniles to learn about many historical facts of the past and help researchers in conducting research. Moreover, traditional buildings also attract tourism; thus, many tourists from across the globe travel to these places which helps in making financial contributions to the local economy. For instance, the Taj Mahal in India attracts around 1.3 million visitors monthly and earns an enormous amount of the government's treasure. Therefore, considering all the above-mentioned points it is fair to say that governments should spend some proportion of money on preserving old structures. On the other hand, financial support for building houses and roads for the public is a vital concern as well. As the population is increasing globally, there is a growing need for accommodating residents in sophisticated housing estates and building safe roads for their daily travel. Therefore, more finances should be assigned to these projects than others. Furthermore, when such infrastructure is up to date, a nation will be considered a developed country. For example, the Indian government is spending more on unnecessary plans than on developing basic public facilities; hence, known as an underdeveloped nation. Consequently, when such important issues are not addressed properly, it does not look wise of allocating more financial help to maintaining historic structures. To sum up, although antique structures are significant for the local economy, matters like developing suburbs and quality roads are far more important. As a result, authorities should spend wisely by putting the interest of their residents first.