Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is currently noticeable that, as styles and notions of marriages have changed over time, the expenses spent on those ceremonies have increased dramatically. From my point of view, it is a positive development since people should enjoy their once-in-a-lifetime event.  As far as the causes are concerned, first of all, today’s people treasure this moment more than in the past since they now recognize that they will not get a chance to hold this ceremony for a second time. Therefore, people end up making their weddings more fabulous than ever and, this results in extra costs and makes their marriages pricier. Secondly, due to people ’s creative minds to make the event more memorable, the cost becomes high. For instance, it is now trending to have couple photos with the background of breathtaking sceneries before the wedding and to make a recorded video of memorable moments of the couple. Back in the day, there were no such thoughts so the budget spent on the ceremony was relatively lower than the present because travelling to exotic destinations only to get wonderful photos and hiring people and equipment to make a video are costly. In my opinion, this development is fantastic because I personally believe that people should get an opportunity to have contentment (which can only be bought with money nowadays) at their weddings since this is a once-in-a-lifetime ceremony. Moreover, they will never forget this precious moment by spending money thriftily on the event because,in psychological terms, the more expensive the item or event is, the more difficult it is to forget the purchase. Thus, it should be understandable why weddings should be up to standard. In conclusion, marriage should be something which can give us nostalgic feelings whenever we look back on them. Hence, we should value this ceremony by making the event more fabulous and memorable.