In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate about whether students in primary school should be taught foreign languages. Although this phenomenon has both pros and cons, I believe that its advantages can outweigh its counterpart. Without a shadow of a doubt, learning the second language may bring negative influences on those students at such a young age. Besides studying compulsory subjects in the school curriculum, primary school children can suffer from pressure when acquiring a new language due to the huge amount of knowledge they have to absorb and the overload of homework. For example, in Vietnam, instead of enjoying themselves according to their age, many youngsters are always sitting at their desks to deal with tons of homework from nine obligatory subjects including English which makes them feel overwhelmed and depressed especially for those who do not have the ability to learn languages. Therefore, teaching another language for primary school kids will put a strain on them. While the drawbacks of educating other languages which is not the kids’ mother tongue are widely acknowledged, there are some favorable benefits to their development. It is irrefutable that learning a second language can help children to be more cognitively developed compared to one who is monolingual. For instance, when acquiring two languages simultaneously, they will be required to use their brains more than others to process the material they have absorbed, thereby gradually training and enhancing their cognitive thinking ability to help them have a more profound way to solve any kind of situation. Hence, learning new languages will serve as the foundation for children's intellectual development from the way they digest the lingual-related information they are being taught. In conclusion, while studying languages can make the kids overwhelmed by the homework, in my opinion, it is a effiecient method to assist children in maturing faster than their peers who just only know a language.