The advantages brought by the spread of English as “a global language” will outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Recent years have witnessed the growth of using English as a common language in all countries. However, controversies about whether there are more benefits to speaking English than drawbacks. In this essay, I will include both advantages and disadvantages in order to show this global language is advantageous to the community. To begin with, English breaks down the communication barrier. Besides British and America, English is a well-known second language for all foreign countries. Although other communication methods such as French and Japanese are common, a deficient amount of residents know these as not many people have extra time to learn a third language. For instance, Hong Kong is an international city and ambitious professionals come to participate in an array of job opportunities and devote their capabilities. There is no denying that English is essential to understand each other, albeit an understanding profile or record is attained. Using the same communication method not only allows for improving one's relationship but also expands a city's economy, hence, these advantages may improve the public's quality of life. On the other hand, the spread of English may be a burden to one's society. Regarding English being popular, most countries are using it, even though it is not their major option. Nevertheless, this leads to a trend of reducing the community's first language at a dramatic rate. As an example, China's native speakers are mostly renowned for speaking Cantonese and Putonghua. Since the majority are now focusing on speaking English nowadays, some opposers may argue that their main language is being overtaken, likewise, the discrimination between two regions may increase. Consequently, disadvantages include losing the reputation of their own language may lead to more controversies. To conclude, it is ascertained that spreading English to all regions may contain both merits and shortcomings. However, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It is because learning more languages allows residents to broaden their horizons and this contains no harm. As a result, this influence will not affect one country's major language, inasmuch as they speak it frequently.