Schools in some countries require their students to wear a uniform. What are the positives and negatives of this rule?

In these days, rules that oblige pupils to wear uniforms are quite common in a lot of schools around the world. Where present, these requirements come with various effects ranging from positive influence on the learning environment to negative impact on the development of young people. Traditionally, the requirement of imposing the single style and colour of clothes in schools has been serving the purpose of creating the appropriate atmosphere for studying. For children, it is important to see and feel that school is different from home, where there are no such rules. In addition to that, diverse outfits may attract attention when it is necessary to focus on lessons. Especially teenage boys are likely to get distracted by their female classmates wearing nice dresses, which could happen during the most important classes. Just forcing everyone to wear the same rectifies such adverse effects and makes the learning process more productive. In the last decades, the downsides of uniforms have become more apparent. As personal individuality is becoming culturally more important, some people start noticing that in some ways schools are teaching children the opposite. With the enforcement of uniform clothes, neither are students taught to appreciate each other's differences nor is the educational process being kept sufficiently entertaining. It is not surprising that pupils in schools without strict outfit rules are on average more creative and bright when they graduate. Uniforms suppress individuality and creativity, which perhaps was not important in the past, but is a major issue today. In conclusion, valid arguments can be made both in favour of school uniforms and against them. In the future, further social progress should define whether such rules still have right to exist.