Many parts of the world are loosing natural resources, such as forests, animals, or clean water . Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it is needed to be saved.

Conservation of natural resources is the process in which all natural things are used in a careful manner in order to prevent their depletion. Soil, clean water, forests as well as animals, all are non-renewable natural resources that need to be protected. However, if I have to select one resource to be saved, I would rather save forests because of several reasons. Jungles provide shade to the ground through the foliage. They are habitats for many living things which help in maintaining biodiversity. Many animals and plant species, vulnerable to extinction shelter in the forest. These all species are critical for driving the ecosystem. Extinction of a single species can cost a huge loss for various other living things. Furthermore, large trees protect soil from runoff. Powerful wind and running water might decrease the fertility and nutrition value of the soil by causing erosion of the topsoil. Hence, deforestation of a large area as a purpose of farming must be prevented in order to maintain land productivity. On top of these, forests capture Carbon dioxide and prevent its leaking into the atmosphere. Trees use Carbon dioxide in photosynthesis and release Oxygen out of the environment. Trees are helping in the reduction of global warming by reducing greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. An Increase in Carbon dioxide can further lead to glacier melting and an acidic ocean environment. Melting ice caps in Antarctica and Greenland would be responsible for flooding coastal cities as well as acidic seawater is hazardous to the ocean ecosystem. Moreover, huge forests are the best welcome for rain which is the main source of clean water. As groundwater can run out in near future, rainfall is crucial for living organisms as the source of drinking, bathing and crop irrigation. Additionally, trees provide us with timber and firewood as fuels and many medicines. Many products like rubber, lakh and sandal are derived from trees used for industrial purposes. To recapitulate forests are the heart of Earth's ecosystem. Saving trees in turn saves biodiversity and land. Deforestation must not be done, instead much sustainable forestry might be performed in which careful harvesting is done in the forest in order to balance the number of trees and economical needs.