ARGUMENTATIVE ESSAY ASSIGNMENT Some people argue that children recreation parks should give way to the development of shopping mall complex in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times infrastructures in the metropolis are advancing more rapidly, especially with the construction of shopping centres. Currently some individual believes that children leisure parks should be turn into the building of more shopping plazas in the urban areas. In this essay I totally do not support to the view that children playground should be converted to shopping complex. To begin with, I would like to point out that when children play fields are turned into super markets, this can cause a disruption to their intellectual development. There are several impacts of these trend on the children. Recreational centres increase self - esteem, improve collaboration skills and enhance critical thinking skills among children. As a result not only are the young ones denied critical thinking through play but they suffer mental and physical trauma in the future. For example between 2016 to 2020 a survey conducted by Lizz Child Support Foundation reported that out of two thousand children surveyed in five cities in Indonesia, 75% are mentally retarded which has increase the failure in the Nation Maths quize. Another important point to add is that, encouraging children of recreational activities strengthen their immune system. As children move outside on playgrounds, they test their bodies abilities in a way that is difficult to do inside. Climbing, swinging and digging in the sand all help children develop their motor skills. For instance in Argentina, the health sector recorded that children morbidity ratio has declined by 8% as in 2021 and this was attributed to increase children’s recreational parks in the country. In conclusion, I do not concur to children playgrounds been converted into shopping malls due to the negative effects this will cause to their intellectual development as well as their immunity building which will rub them off becoming sound adults in the future.