Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to easy access to the Internet, many academic institutes, and especially universities offer virtual courses instead of in-person classes. It seems to me that this should be considered as a possible development. The main advantage of online programs is that the students can attend the class from wherever they are comfortable; therefore, the transportation charges for coming to the campus every day will be reduced. Also, the university doesn't have to pay extra charges for maintenance, power, etc. Hence, both the university and the students can save more time and money. Furthermore, these courses can be recorded and the students can rewatch the parts they missed during the class. They won’t be limited by the class hours and can study and work on the courses at any time of the day. Since the sessions will be recorded, teachers will be more careful about what they say during their presentations and can minimize potential mistakes. Online courses can be beneficial for the teachers too. They can stay at home and prepare for their lectures and have more free time for responsibilities besides work. On the other hand, holding classes on campus might include some other benefits. First, the key advantage of in-person courses is the physical interaction between the teacher and the students. This can affect learning significantly. Moreover, asking questions and connecting with the class environment is less challenging in person and this help students to focus better and get on with the class easier. Although the specific views on this issue may vary from person to person, I believe that the advantages of online courses outway the disadvantages and therefore, this should be considered a development.