Some experts believe that this is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

Adept at speaking, writing and listening skills in a second language give people a golden opportunity in many fields due to globalisation. It is believed that children should be better to learn a foreign language in elementary school than in secondary school. In my opinion, the benefits of this are by far the drawbacks. The essay will analyse how studying a foreign language brings children better chances in their foreseeable future as an advantage and how hard it would be for them to totally understand other countries' cultural context when learning a language as a disadvantage before clarifying the conclusion. On the one hand, starting to learn a non-native language at primary school takes time for children to understand the completely international cultural context. For example, my 6 years old sister, who just attended elementary school, have to study French as her second language. Because the grammar, vocabulary and foreign culture are unfamiliar to her, she can not fully understand and use them right. It can be seen that children may not have enough ability to learn complex non-native languages. Although there are some languages which are hard for children to study at an early age, parents can choose prevalent others for their sons and daughters due to their fast remembering and applying ability in learning a language. Thus, I think the disadvantage of this is minor. On the other hand, letting children to studying a second language besides their mother tongue can provide them with a bright future. For instance, according to a survey conducted in China and Vietnam, children who began learning English at primary school would have a linguistic certification from a foreign organization, such as Cambridge, and have a chance to enrol in high-ranked schools in their area. This means that these children then have a concrete foundation to approach higher and better education, which gives them a key to a successful future. It is clear that children enrolled in foreign language courses at primary school will receive their hard-won results after a long and hard-working process. Therefore, starting to learn a non-native language when in elementary school brings nothing but advantages in the long term for children. In conclusion, in spite of the difficulty in studying an unfamiliar language at an early age, I strongly believe that this provides more benefits than drawbacks.