In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that the decreasing population in the countryside is more and more common in modern society. While there are some drawbacks to in living a rural area, I do believe that it is more beneficial than living in cities, due to the damages to the Earth and human health. On the one hand, I agree that more people living in cities is more effective for a country's improvement. To be more specific, the job opportunities in cities are much higher, which allows people to receive a higher chance to earn more money than staying in the countryside. As a result, it not only can offer people further income, but also increase the national economic level. For instance, in my country, recent research indicated that the average salaries in cities are 20% higher than in other regions, and most of the GDP is related to it. On the other hand, despite some benefits mentioned above, I firmly believe that excessive population has a huge impact on human well-being. There are three reasons why it influences negatively our life quality. Firstly, the high population leads to traffic jams every day, which is dangerous to the public and a massive pressure on the transport system. Secondly, the air pollution caused by excessive vehicles is hurting our Earth, which is one of the primary reasons for Global Warming. Finally, the reduction of the living space, resulting the high risk of mental illness, such as depression, anxiety disorders and phobia. To conclude, it is reasonable that people choose to live in cities, however, I think it is wiser to live in rural areas to protect our environment and our health.