Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that high schools should incorporate unpaid community service in their educational programmes. I totally agree with the former view and will give my reasons below. On the one hand, an unpaid community service scheme plays an important role in educating students about their country. For example, the “Green Summer” is held at Viet Nam high schools every summer to encourage teenagers to volunteer themselves doing charity work for the local communities. Students are given several tasks to complete such as taking care of elderly people at local nursing homes or transporting goods and school supplies to remote areas. They, therefore, have a better understanding of the lives of people in other places and the problems that the country is wrestling with. On the other hand, unpaid service such as improving a residential area or giving a presentation about sports to juniors can bring about numerous benefits to high school students. Firstly, these volunteer activities offer pupils a chance to have a temporary break from their studies. They have more time to relax and make friends as community service involves the engagement of different high schools. Secondly, community work like these may give them a sense of purpose since they feel needed and respected thus becoming more confident in social situations. Finally, some students might have discovered what they are interested in, which helps to choose their majors after graduation from high school In conclusion, I believe that the addition of unpaid community service in the high school curriculum can educate their students more effectively by giving them opportunities to acquire useful knowledge and relieve stress.