Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

People are divided on their opinion about the importance of learning foreign literature. Some believe that children should be taught the history, culture, and linguistics of their own country only. In my opinion, I believe that for better development of adolescents, they should learn about both national and international information. On the one hand, several advantages related to giving insight into the local traditions, culture, and history are clear. One principle reason is that it is one of the best ways to instil patriotism in the hearts of children. If students learn how their ancestors sacrifice their lives for freedom, they will always try to become better citizens to serve their country. Another obvious benefit is that individuals would not forget their identity and become more connected to their local culture. On the other hand, in my view, teaching other countries arts and literature can bring a wide range of benefits which must be taken into consideration. Firstly, this activity could promote harmony among nations, consequently, citizens could start respecting other cultures. In this way, people would become more tolerant. For instance, when Australian students started to know about other countries, they have been showing less racism since. Therefore, clear advantages of giving knowledge about other nations can be observed. In conclusion, while it is necessary to include local history in the syllabus, global awareness of all countries has more positives than drawbacks.