Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief among certain individuals that teenagers should be mandated to contribute to their community with free service. This essay completely agrees with this statement and explains how both young adults and residents are benefited from such an arrangement. Firstly, selfless community service allows young students to be prepared and excel in their adult years because it builds their personality to be altruistic. This is because sacrificing your own time and making significant efforts for others are two of the most important qualities demanded by a leadership position. For example, one study conducted by Forbes magazine concluded that about 80 percent of CEOs have served at least 160 hours for the betterment of society. Thus, helping the needy in early childhood benefits young people by enhancing their leadership traits. Secondly, locals are benefitted due to the amazing contributions of a vibrant and dynamic workforce and free help. Since teens are physically more active, they can better take care of physically demanding tasks such as lifting weights, enduring long hours of work, and helping the elderly to walk around. Moreover, some local institutions, which can not afford to hire more people, can take advantage of these energetic individuals because of the unpaid job that they are doing. For instance, my local elderly care home has 90% of teenagers, who are studying in nearby schools, as employees. In conclusion, some people think that extracurricular volunteering activities should be compulsory for teenagers. In my opinion, it should be mandatory as it not only benefits teenagers ' persona but also provides society with an incomparable and very economical workforce.