Some people think that the best way to broaden young people’s understanding of the world is to encourage them to travel to other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What other measure do you think might be effective?

There are those who believe that it is in the interest of a youngster to travel the globe in order to better comprehend what is happening on earth. I agree with this point of view because it would enhance their awareness of what is going on however, there would also be other methods to achieve the same outcome. Those who can afford international travel and real-life exposure to alternative cultures and customs, should take up the opportunity and do it. The benefits of exploring a country different to your own are endless and can truly enrich a person’s life. In particular, such experiences will enhance your understanding and help you to develop a deeper respect for both your own circumstances as well as for those of others. For example, a spoiled child who spends their vacation in India might return home with a greater appreciation for their own living conditions and for essentials like clean water, the ability to turn on a light with a quick switch or even sanitary ablution facilities. Travelling and exploring is a dream of many juveniles but, only an option for a few. By reading newspapers, watching videos, and indulging in books, minors can get a sense of what the planet is like. Moreover, they are exposed to the fauna, flora and humans which will showcase what their daily lives and living conditions are like. In addition, they can reach out to foreign residents in their local communities and learn about their culture and customs and as such develop consciousness of the world they occupy. For example, the Discovery Channel, televise shows about plants, animals, countries and cultures. The shows are designed to give you insight into the lives of others. In conclusion, I agree that one should travel and participate in nature as much as possible in order to get a larger conception of the world we live in. However, the alternative methods of exploration and awareness should not be dismissed and will equally be beneficial.