Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There is a discussion if animal experiments should be prohibited completely or allowed in certain situations. Some people say, it is always morally wrong, others argue that there are higher purposes such as scientific progress that justify the experimentation. This essay will discuss this issue and explore if there is any common ground that would meet the expectations of both sides. Animal-rights activitists are becoming stronger and stronger with spreading their opinion that using animals to experiment is not ethical. It is widely believed that shouldn't use these vulnerable creatures for our own purposes to evolve and produce more. Especially taking into account how many species are endangered, we should protect them rather than utilizing. On the other hand, the opposition says that important discoveries should be an exemption. However, that rise a dillema of what actually is an important scientific discovery. It is being said that this term might be misused for wrong causes. Therefore, it is safer not to leave any room for interpretation and prohibit it fully. I truly believe that this is the right approach. Nevertheless, in order to secure human grow and support innovations, it seems to be inevitable to start looking for new solutions. Thanks to technology, it may be possible to test new ideas in an artificial way, for instance using synthesised animal cells in laboratories. It is slowly happening in developed countries, such as Switzerland or Japan and it brings equal results without needing to sacrifice any animals. To conclude, I strongly believe that experimentation on animals should be outlawed. It does not mean that scientific discoveries would need to suffer thought. We could use the new technologies to support and enable inventions.