Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There has been a controversy about whether life would be better if technology was simpler. I disagree with this argument, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, technology brings convenience to our life. Take me as an example. I moved to a new city one week ago; this is the first time I have been to this city. Therefore, I have been using google Maps these days so as to find my destinations. On the contrary, if GPS wasn' t invented; it could be difficult for people to live in places they don' t know. Besides, thanks to the existence of GPS, which promotes our working efficiency, and avoids wasting time. For example, with GPS, the government can better manage its people. Second, technology lessens famine largely. It's expected that there were machines in the past; hence, farmers had to grow crops themselves. Nevertheless, as a consequence of self-planting, food production wasn' t enough to feed all people around the country; thus, there were frequent famines that took place. On the other hand, with machines, food production can be increased substantially, and they can even grow some exotic products as well, such as chilli pepper. Third, ascending our living standards. It's commonplace that due to the existence of fridges, we can drink cold drinks and eat ice creams freely. However, ancient people didn' t have this condition, they could only consume what they had in their hands. It can be said that technology promotes our living standards considerably. In conclusion, I believe life would be better with technology.