In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the widespread of television and the internet, western styles are spread all over the world. Somehow in many parts of the globe, people are preferring suits and jeans over their traditional dresses like sarees, kurtas, pyjamas. These adaptations is reflecting a positive expansion towards the development of a country. In order to raise the demand for western clothing, these countries are making use of television as a platform to present their different and more attractive style through fashion shows and fashion competitions. For example in India where the market was huge but there was not any awareness of fashion, at that point in time Sushmita Sen Indian citizen contested for the Miss Universe competition and won that title. With that Indian market shows a boom in their demand for that outfits like suits, jeans, shirts, skirts, etc. Hence this changed the mindset towards the adaption of western over traditional attire. Although, society might be forgetting their traditional outfits, at the same time accepting others seems beneficiary both at an individual level and at an economical level. For example in 1991 when India opens its hand to globalisation, several MNCs enters India and which resulted in an increase in the requirement for qualified and professional labour. Professionalism not only comes with a degree but also with appearance, for that society adopts formal attire like a suit, shoes, shirt, pants,etc. Furthermore, with the adoption of foreign style, the local market got a business opportunity to enter into a new line. As with this development, local manufacturers started securing local consumption along with exporting their excess produce into foreign markets. Which would ultimately result in both wealth and job creation. Therefore wearing western culture comes out to be a positive advancement. In conclusion, accepting foreign culture is not a bad thing but we should not also forget our roots and our traditional attire.