Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

There is a fierce controversy about whether sports should be considered more seriously and incorporated with other academic content. While some people contend that sports should not be made mandatory, I would argue that sports are useful for improving children's well-being thus being an important part of any particular educational system. On the one hand, some parents argue that playing sports is less important and beneficial than learning. Modern parents believe that learning and acquiring vast knowledge is the best route to get success and earning a high salary so today's youngsters are placed under a lot of strain to keep up with their studies. They want their children to only focus on performing well in academic fields, which is why they protest the idea of adopting sports as a main subject in the school curriculum. On the other hand, I believe that sports play a key role in fortifying the all-around education environment serving the youths. A positive academic result goes hand in hand with good health. For example, a student will not perform well in his final exams if he is seriously ill. Therefore, playing sports is crucial to maintain one's stamina thus perpetuating academic achievements as it helps to boost the immune system thus lowering the risk of developing illnesses such as heart disease, cancer, and diabetes. Furthermore, encouraging children to play sports regularly facilitates them to ease their minds and refill energy after stressed days. In conclusion, from all the reasons mentioned above, it seems to be that sports play an indispensable part in the education environment because it brings about numerous favourable benefits related to children's physical health and their school records.